News 000d198e2070bfb773aae8bc64af9a56

Published on April 9th, 2019 | by Faith

0

‘Studio Ghibli’ Meets Link in This ‘Legend of Zelda’ Crossover

Studio Ghibli is one of Japan’s most recognizable studios, and its influence continues to grow. With director Hayao Miyazaki out of retirement, anything is possible for the brand, and one fan is trying to imagine how the studio may handle another Japanese franchise.

You know, since Link and Breath of the Wild are begging for an adaptation at this point.

Over on Reddit, a fan shared a piece of artwork by an artist known as Wahoo. The piece, which can be seen below, shows how a Legend of Zelda crossover with My Neighbor Totoro could look.

The fan-art is inspired by the iconic bus stop scene in My Neighbor Totoro. The usual image has the big forest spirit to the right while a little girl stands to his other side in the rain. However, this take on the scene has a distinctive Hyrule flair.

To the left, fans can see an itty bitty take on Link in his hero’s garb. He is carrying a Deku child on his back as the rain pours, and they are joined by a towering presence on the righthand side. Goron Link is seen holding his own umbrella thanks to the rainy weather, and his meaty stature proves this take on Link has aged perfectly.

This is not the first time fans have mashed up the Studio Ghibli with the Legend of Zelda, but this piece is a standout for many. With the video game franchise eyeing a new Switch game in 2019, there is more focus on Link’s adventures than usual, and the same can be said for the anime studio. Currently, Miyazaki is working on his latest film How Do You Live? while GKIDS and Fathom prepare this year’s packed schedule for Studio Ghibli Fest. You can check out the event’s full list of films below:

  • “Howl’s Moving Castle: 15th Anniversary” – Sunday, April 7; Monday, April 8; and Wednesday, April 10.
  • “Nausicaä of the Valley of the Wind: 35th Anniversary” – Monday, May 20; Tuesday, May 21.
  • “Whisper of the Heart” – Monday, July 1 and Tuesday, July 2.
  • “Kiki’s Delivery Service: 30th Anniversary” – Sunday, July 28; Monday, July 29; and Wednesday, July 31.
  • “My Neighbor Totoro” – Sunday, August 25; Monday, August 26; and Wednesday, August 28.
  • “The Secret World of Arrietty” – Sunday, September 29 and Monday, September 30
  • “Spirited Away” – Sunday, October 27; Monday, October 28; and Wednesday, October 30.
  • “Princess Mononoke” – Sunday, November 17; Monday, November 18; and Wednesday, November 20.
  • “The Tale of The Princess Kaguya” – Monday, December 16 and Wednesday, December 18.

So, what do you think of this art? Let me know in the comments or hit me up on Twitter @MeganPetersCB to talk all things comics and anime!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


About the Author



Leave a Reply

Back to Top ↑

bagzon google chrome download free latest version free software downloads windows 7 new blogger templates 2013 free download themesinc